Due to the bad unforeseen weather conditions, Ruddiman Middle school declared half day off for the students last week. So our BBBS session was cancelled. I guess I wasn't the only person who missed that one hour of fun and affability.  Hence, the reason that this week's assemble was looked for with an added anticipation.

Last Friday, May 12 had Mother's day the following Sunday. So the activity BBBS had planned for us at the school was a bit of Art and Craft involving designing and decorating a photo frame for Moms. In event of the day loss then, they somehow rescheduled the same activity for May 19.  

We met there at the regular time and after greetings, I asked Kenisha about her Maths homework. She showed me that they were working on some pythagorus theorem problems. So I taught her the right angled triangle, hypotenuse and the Pythagorean theorem. She was having hard time with their pronunciations so we came up with the cut outs.  

HYPOTENUSE   = HY-POTE-NUSE = Hi – Pauty – News

PYTHAGOREAN = PY-THA-GO-REAN = Pie – Tha –Go – Reeean 

It doesn’t read that funny, but it was hilarious when our neighbors started giggling at our practice session. πŸ™‚ 

I wanted to keep the class short so that she isn’t really bored out of it. So after the brief train-how and signing the BBBS attendance sheet, we started our craft work. Finding out stickers and animal and flower cut outs for the decoration was fun. We both had many common picks that we decided upon. I knew Kenisha would feel a bit bad about the whole design being for the Mother's day thing, so I suggested that she could design something for her sister or her best friend and at that she said I want to make it for "US". It left me dumbstruck in awe for a while. πŸ™‚  

With a theme of Dolphins and hearts, we decorated the frame with a calligraphic write-up of "Best-Buds" and our initials. The frame is a master-piece for me, not only for some exceptionally beautiful work, but for the fact that it's our first creative activity wrapped with fun and feelings. πŸ˜‰   

Also after today's meeting, I know that of all things in me, she loves my hair the most and likes that I know some maths. Hehehhehehe ……… We would have just started and sooner than we knew, the hour had already past by. I am reminded of the theory of relativity by Einstein.

 (Put your hand on a hot stove for a minute, and it seems like an hour. Sit with a pretty girl for an hour, and it seems like a minute. THAT’S relativity. -Albert Einstein) 

Last time, when we were playing the game "Connect Four", a win seemed very easy for me in the various rounds, but for the first time, for a 13 yr old angel, I wanted to lose. I was more than willing to accept a failure. Just to see that smile on her face, the sense of accomplishment with a twinkle in her eye.  

That was when I felt that so many people around you could unknowingly bring that unprecedented transformation in you and bring out that side of you which you yourself are unaware of. 

Next week their school is again closed and so there wont be any BBBS session. Now we next meet June 2nd.    

