"Big-Little" relationship — "My first day"

Last Friday was our first session for BBBS. I drove to my company's headquarters and from there the bunch of mentor volunteers with their Brown lunch bags started their journey to Ruddiman Middle School in company's shuttle. After a couple of minutes drive and a bit getting lost in the neighborhood, we entered the school's rear parking lot. If you ask me how I felt…..I was having goose bumps. But so were the others – nervous and apprehensive and considering the fact that most of them were already parents to 2-3 10-20 year olds, I was doing great.🙂   

We assembled in the school's auditorium. It was quite nostalgic….entering a school's auditorium after almost 8 years and fitting in those tiny winy chairs. I was taken aback to my own school days. After a brief introduction about Big Brothers Big Sisters Foundation and a brief up about ourselves, we were introduced to our "Little" (oh did I tell you for the first time I am the "Big"…..I am the youngest of the siblings in my family and so have always been the "Little"🙂 ).  

For the rest of the school season, my little is a cute 13 year old African-American girl named Kenisha. A 7th grader, Kenisha shared my nervousness and the enthusiasm too for this "Big-Little" relationship. She is the 8th of 11 children. Unfortunately lost her mother and now lives with her sister. Has a pet dog named Oscar and loved watching the movie "Love don't cost a thing." She likes Art and literature and hates math (unlike me) except that she likes Algebra for the solving equations part only😉.  When she was in the second grade she had an Indian friend and does want to visit
India someday.
 

Ice breaker: BBSS organized a small activity where we had to grab some pieces of toilet paper out of the role. Kenisha liked the number 3 so I took 3 sheets each for both of us. Some of the volunteers took 10-11 too. This was the place where more wasn’t that good😉 The game was that u had to share with everybody N things about you where N was the number of sheets. It was fun when people started telling their zodiacs and even the day of the week they were born. We had our lunch together and I also offered her some Upma I made and she seemed to like it😉  

Being the introductory session, time we got with our Little was short. So looking forward to next Friday and yes!! Without any apprehensions🙂 .