A debatable topic indeed!!! But what do we debate on….and who decides the conclusion….and is there a viable and justifiable conclusion at all….and who testifies it….Wouldn’t everyone agree to the saying: If you believe in God, no proof is required. And if you don’t believe in God, no proof is adequate.

Isn’t this discussion similar to the hen and egg thingy? Which came first?

Who all would be at the either end of the table here…hmmm…..one end would be the theists and the other would be the atheists and yet another group of people would be the undecided ones — The agnostics!!

When I sit and think about which side I would be: There have been situations in life when I have questioned the existence of God to figure out why at all He let these happen. Why would he want his creation to go through all this misery and serrated times? And what was the changed “me” afterwards? Someone who saw the positive side to realize what the worse could have been. And I come to see that I have always evolved into a better and strong person. Just like gold does each time it goes thro the heat… yet again to mould into a marvelous piece to treasure. I have always seen those one pair of footprints. There has always been something or someone…the source of hope in despair and light in the gloom. Something supernatural, this just doesn’t seem so human. I just like to call that supernatural power GOD. Yeah I am reusing the word from the vocabulary I have been fed since childhood. My ancestors might have meant something else according to their beliefs. For me, it’s that which I can trust when I panic and hold on to when I have absolutely no one around…when I feel all alone. That feeling!!…that faith in me…that confidence on self…that hope for the good…that trust in the truth is GOD.     

And like Love!! This feeling doesn’t have a shape, a form or state. Its just there. I don’t need my 5 senses to feel it. I can feel it with my conscience.

Simon Weil said, “An atheist may be simply one whose faith and love are concentrated on the impersonal aspects of God.” That may call me an Atheist. But then again, If there was not God, there would be no atheists.

Some quotes worth pondering upon:

  • I once wanted to become an atheist, but I gave up — they have no Holidays.
  • W. C. Fields, a lifetime agnostic, was discovered reading a Bible on his deathbed. ”I’m looking for a loop-hole”,  he explained. 
